John Muir Award

The John Muir Award is an environmental award scheme focused on wild places. It encourages awareness and responsibility for the natural environment, in a spirit of fun, adventure and exploration.

The Award is open to all, and is the educational initiative of the John Muir Trust. Four Challenges are at the heart of each John Muir Award; discover – explore – conserve – share.

To achieve a John Muir Award certificate, each participant must:
? Tackle all four Challenges ? Discover, Explore, Conserve, Share
? Complete the required time commitment
? Show enthusiasm and commitment towards their Award involvement
? Have an awareness of John Muir, his life, works and achievements

They should also:
? Work with experienced and qualified staff, as appropriate to activities
? Understand outdoor access issues relevant to location and activities undertaken
? Comply with all Health and Safety and insurance requirements of the organization delivering Award activities. If applicable, participants may wish to be covered by their own personal insurance

The three Levels of the John Muir Award – Discovery Level, Explorer Level and Conserver Level – encourage a progressive involvement.

Posted on: August 16th, 2009 by James Owers

Sharing is Caring

Company Number 6623934 | Charity Number 1128037